Playing Catch Up

Boy, this week is young…but it’s already wearing me out! My to-do list for the shop feels like it’s a mile long. I had a cold last week and lost a couple of days stuck on the couch with a horrid sinus infection. Then I had company AND went away for the weekend – I’m not complaining, I had a great time hanging with some old friends from high school and then visiting my in-laws.

new polymer caly pendants
Monday's creations

But, the hectic nature of last week has put me behind on my blog schedule – but there’s only so much 2 people can do, and we’ve sure been busy promoting our shop and making new connections. And after some long days away from the beloved workshop, we got to sit down Monday and come up with a new batch of necklace pendants that we’re hoping to add to the Etsy shop by or on Friday evening. But remember, if you see anything you like, just send us a message and we’ll save it for you and process your order outside of Etsy, if this is more convenient for you.

In other news, I can’t believe the Etsy shop has been open for nearly a month now- we turn 1 month old on Friday! Time flies both when you’re having fun and when you’re busy. Seriously, I’ve been so full of creative energy- over the last month there were a couple of 48 hour periods that I didn’t sleep at all because I was too invested in what I was doing to even notice how tired I was. I guess that’s a trait of almost any creative person though, especially when they’re working on projects they are putting their whole hearts into. I have spent sleepless nights anxiously working on new clay creations as well as nights at the computer engaging with other artisans and crafters in Etsy forums and making new connections to help promote our shop and showcase our products to a larger audience. You really wouldn’t believe how much time was involved for all that, unless you were to sit down and try it all yourself.

And after all the work both myself and my mom have put in…it’s a little disheartening to approach our one-month Etsy birthday with no  sales, but it’s nothing we’re not prepared for- marketing, finding and building that perfect audience that loves your pieces and can appreciate the time, devotion and heart you put into each piece takes time. And we’re loving the journey, loving the new friends we are making, and loving that YOU are making the journey with us!

We finally reached 100 likes yesterday and got to give away this mushroom house candle tin/trinket box (hand sculpted from polymer clay) to one of our Facebook followers. We’ll be giving away more stuff on the Facebook page– so join us there to get involved in our future giveaways.

 

2 thoughts on “Playing Catch Up

Join in the conversation- Leave a comment!

